Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /var/www/vhosts/3/119000/webspace/httpdocs/ on line 454 Beechworth Secondary College - School Council

School Council

All government schools in Victoria have a legally formed School Council. The Council has powers to set the key directions of a school within centrally provided guidelines. A School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Who is on the School Council?

There are three categories of membership:

Parent Category: More than one third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD) employees can be Parent members at their child’s school as long as they are not employed at the school.

DET Employee Category: Members of this category may make up no more than one third of the total membership of school council. The principal of the school is automatically one of these members.

Community Member Category: Community members may be co-opted to the council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. DET employees are not eligible to be Community members.

The term of office for all members is two years. Half the members must retire each year, creating vacancies for the annual school council elections.

President Mr Reg Jackson
Executive Officer Ms Patricia Broom - Principal
Parent Members

Ms Kat Beaton

Ms Ali Maher

Mr Neil Trabant

DET Employee Members   


Ms Nina Hunt

Mr Hugh King

Student Members



Co-opted Community Member

Minute Secretary





Ms Liz Wilkinson


There are a number of sub-committees of the School Council which have a specific brief. They include:

  • Education Committee (Curriculum)
  • Building & Grounds Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Uniform Committee
  • Canteen Committee
  • Learning Technology Committee (IT)
  • Raising the Profile Committee
  • Parents & Friends Club